Group Discussions

helppppppp advice please!

Subscribe
  • ive got myself into a very awkward situation;

I have just started a new part time job (6 weeks) and Ive decided I dont like it.

I have also been offered and accepted, my dream job with dream salary, full time.

My parttime job requires 2 weeks notice.

The only reason I got the new job is that I said I could start in a week.

I really need some time before starting my new job, to get organised so I can cope with the schedule again.

Basically I havent yet resigned, and I want to do it without going back AT ALL!

Plus I have had the flu and am still not fully recovered...I really shouldnt be at work in the first place but am dragging myself in.

Is there a way to handle this one without burning my bridges?
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by ausmum on 7th May 2007
  • I am not an expert, but I think just quitting this job without any notice is not a great idea and will definitely burn this bridge. One angle I can think of is talking to your current employer and saying that you really need to make a higher income due to certain circumstances and that you have to take a full-time job right away. I think this will still create some issues but at least there is a legitimate reasons, which makes it sound better.

I would definitely advise against just not showing up - it's just not a good idea.

Good luck, sounds like a great change, but a tough transition.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Nataly on 7th May 2007
  • I would agree with Nataly. I think being honest is the way to go. However, I would not disclose that you would like to take a week off between jobs and like Nataly suggested would say that you need to start your new job right away. This is tough and you will probably still end up disappointing your current boss. You have to do what's best for you and your family. Good luck with it!
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Victoria on 7th May 2007