Group Discussions

What are you currently reading?

Subscribe
  • I have been on a Dean Koontz kick lately, so I am reading his "By the Light of the Moon".

It's been on my pile of reading material so long, I can't even remember when I bought it, and I am finally to it. It is the last one in my pile, so I need to find some new ones to read soon.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by mommy2kiera on 16th August 2007
  • I am currently reading Wicked by Gregory Maguire.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Kim Begnaud on 16th August 2007
  • I am in between books, but I just finished one called The Falcon Bride. Before that, I read Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer. I also have a stack of books so big by my bed that I put my alarm clock on it, LOL.

I have to admit: I read a lot of "crap." I have a justification though (of course!). I have a Master's Degree in English. So, obviously, I know HOW to read better books. But I also tend to have strong empathic reactions to books, so if I read serious fiction, I tend to get a little depressed. So, I try to read "light" stuff that may be fluff and have one plot again and again, but it amuses me and helps me relax.

So, I read historical romances, mysteries, with "real" books in between.

I am also very fond of vampires...
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Jen Creer on 16th August 2007
  • I'm reading The Kite Runner for my off-line book club. I need to finish it before next Friday's meeting, so hopefully I'll get a big block of uninterrupted reading time this weekend. It's good so far, but my book-reading time has dropped recently due to more blog-reading (and writing) - oh, and work time and family time too.

Kim, what do you think of Wicked? My book club read it a couple of years ago, and most of them hated it. I thought it was OK but not quite what I expected. Interestingly, the club member who disliked the book the most saw the musical based on it a couple of months ago and loved that.