Group Discussions

I feel guilty for not feeling guilty!

Subscribe
  • Hi, All,

I'm very new to this site, so this might have been covered by someone already, so I apologize in advance if it has...

I work approximately 30-35 hours/week. I'm an attorney in private practice. I practice family law: divorce, custody, child support, and parenting time. My son, Elliott, goes to Kinder Kare two days/week. The other days he's home with his dad/my husband, who is a professor and teaches only two days/week during the day. Our son is 17-months-old. He loves going to Kinder Kare and being with his Dad. My scheduled is very flexible most of the time, and I basically come and go as I please, which is fantastic. I stayed home with Elliott full-time until the beginning of the summer, when I went back to work.

Here's my situation: I love my job. Lately, I've been feeling really guilty that I don't feel guilty about not being with Elliott 24/7. Maybe I'm just a bad mom, or not good at it, but I feel like I really some time away from Elliott. Now, don't get me wrong, I love my son to death, but sometimes I need some "mom" time. And, I also love my job and my profession.

Does anyone else feel like this, or is it just me? I feel like I should want be around my son 24/7, and be pleasant about it when I am, and I feel guilty that I don't.

Thanks in advance for your help!

- Elliott's Momma
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by elliottsmomma on 24th August 2007
  • If you are guilty of being a bad mom please make room for me on the bad mom bandwagon.

I'm a single parent with two kids (7 & 10). I cherish our time together but I also cherish our time apart. It is good for them to spend time with their dad and with other family members. They spent the first part of this week at my sisters house with their younger cousins.

I am also a career mom. I LOVE what I do for a living! That said, I do feel like I have a really healthy work/life balance.