Group Discussions

Networking online

Subscribe
  • Any other LinkedIn members? I joined a while ago but only recently realized what a great asset it can be. http://www.linkedin.com/in/dandysound is my profile and I'll take more connections in the hopes it will lead to more work. The more work the merrier. Funny how it seems a little like "slutting" myself online, though. And if anyone has great online networking ideas I'm open to those as well.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Mandy Nelson - Dandysound on 13th October 2007
  • I'm still learning about LinkedIn. My profile is at http://www.linkedin.com/in/lornadoone. I'll be adding you!
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Lorna Doone Brewer on 13th October 2007
  • Mandy - I like LinkedIn, but I've found that some of the best networking I've done is through blogs. I never thought I'd say this but I've met some great people, professionaly, through their blogs or responding to comments on other relevant blogs. It takes time, but it's worth it.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Nataly on 14th October 2007
  • P.S. As I typed the answer above, I saw this post about how Facebook is changing its feature to be more focused on professional networking:

http://www.techcrunch.com/2007/10/13/facebook-has- linkedin-in-the-crosshairs/
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Nataly on 14th October 2007
  • Great article Nataly!! I actually have a friend who owns his business (tech company) and he HATES linkedIn! But LOVES Facebook! Even setup groups with the name of the company that he can invite people to - separate ones for clients, employees, and former employees. I think they will merge eventually - it is very difficult/annoying to have both (which of course I do because I am that geeky) but right now they are so different it’s necessary!

I have to be honest though, I have yet to receive any kind of job or other work related networking benefit from either... YET!