Group Discussions

Is working from home/being freelance actually a WORSE option?

Subscribe
  • I've been freelancing from home for the past three years: all three of my children (ages 2,4,6) go to day care/school while i work, so that's not the problem. But what i'm starting to wonder is this: everyone seems to think that "working from home" is the ideal solution for a mom because it's "flexible." but in so many ways, this flexibility kills me. "Flexilibty" means i work at night when the kids are in bed, in addition to working all day. Because my various bosses are located around the country, it doens't matter to them when it's a snow day/late opening -- i still have to crank it out. I get no paid holidays. When my son was very sick, I brought my lap top to the hospital. I could go on, but recently I've been thinking: If i just had a regular full-time job, rather than six freelance part-time jobs, then i would: make more money, have more regular hours, get vacation time, have benefits. Am I deluding myself?
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Andrea on 15th February 2008
  • I just came out of a regular job and here is what made it hard for me...

- rushing around in the mornings to get myself and the kids ready to all be at school/work on time.

- trying to figure out how to juggle this when I had an early morning meeting.

- having to ask for time off for doc appts, school plays, mothers day teas, volunteering and field trips (which I didn't want to miss).

- having to rush off to pick up a sick child...then take the next few days off as the others all got sick too! Felt really guilty when colleagues had to take meetings for me.

- feeling guilty because I had to leave the office at 4:30 in order to get all the kids picked up and home through the traffic so we could have a decent meal at a decent time!

- getting frustrated at work on slow days, because I could rather be at home doing chores!