Group Discussions

Business vs. Blog...

Subscribe
  • I would love to jump on the "blogging" bandwagon, but have been thinking of it in terms of marketing for my online business. The thing is that I really don't have an urge to write about creating and selling baby clothing...I love my biz and have all kinds of plans/ideas/fantasies about building and growing it...but I think when I blog...I want to blog about something else...something that I have always been fascinated with....different careers and what people really love/hate about them!

I am wondering how many of you out there feel the same? I would love for my blog to generate traffic to my site, but can't really see myself writing about baby clothing on a regular basis!

Linda

www.crazy4color.com
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Linda on 12th March 2008
  • Hi, Linda -- I think this is a really good point and a good question. I am an expert in blogging only to the extent that I write the Work It, Mom! Blog here and we have bloggers writing for us, but I do feel that a blog related to your business will drive more valuable traffic than a blog that is about something else.

I think of it this way -- I really love stationary (my husband would say I am nuts about it, but you know, that's his word -- and I've always wanted to blog about it, to explore different kinds, stores, etc. And I am sure if I did it and really worked to grow the blog, and it had a link to Work It, Mom! some people would click over. But it would not be targeted traffic -- many of them might not be moms or even women who would appreciate Work It, Mom!.

I hope that made sense -- 2 hours of sleep last night is not helping today
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by Nataly on 12th March 2008