Group Discussions

struggling with leaving my daughter

Subscribe
  • I am a professional full time working mom who is struggling with a lot of pain over leaving our daughter in someone else's care. Our daughter has been home with a nanny until now but just started daycare yesterday. I felt slightly better when she was at home being cared for but either way I do not like that I have to work and leave her. I want to be the one to raise her full time and enjoy all the wonderful things she does all day. I have been working for some time now and I thought that this would get easier but it hasn't. I am finding this excruciating.

I know that some women do not feel this way in leaving their children, but for those of you who find it difficult to leave your child every day, how are you doing it? I am trying to make peace with this and it just isn't happening. My saving grace has been that I sometimes have some flexibility with my job to take some time off to spend with my daugther so I take advantage of that when I can. But that also typically only makes me wish that I had more time with her.

I am in desperate need of some advice from other working moms who have dealt with similar struggles.

Thanks in advance for any responses.
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by busymomwife7 on 2nd July 2009
  • Hi.

I totally understand where you are coming from. I work full time and miss my daughter terribly. She is 2. I was able to change my hours, so I work from 6-2:30 and I have a good chunk of the afternoon with her. I just try to be present with her when we are together. I do household chores with her when she can help and when she can't, I do them when she sleeps. it is really difficult for me since my mom was a SAHM. But I do the best I can. Until recently, she loved seeing her friends in daycare. (I hope this is just a phase.) Good luck and if you want to talk more, just let me know. :)
    Flag as inappropriate Posted by ramseyquipp on 9th July 2009