Mom Interviews

Allyson Goldsby

Vice President of Marketing, Sony Pictures Television

4664 views  |  0 comments  |        Rate this now! 

There’s one thing about working in Hollywood: There is no “usual” day. I guess that’s why I like it so much. One day is never like the other; one minute I’m working on a pilot presentation, the next day I’m coordinating a photo shoot with Donny Osmond, Alex Trebek, Vanna White, and Pat Sajack. It’s incredibly inconsistent. I never know what’s in store when I pull up to the building here is West L.A.

Best thing about your job:

I get paid to watch television and hang out with stars!

On a serious note, I can go from handling the marketing for Pay-Per-View and Video-On-Demand one day, to launching a new syndicated show the next. I guess it keeps me on my toes. I enjoy a good challenge, so my bosses continue to pass them my way.

Most challenging thing about your job:

I get paid to watch television and hang out with stars?

What is your childcare arrangement and how happy are you with it?

I need flexibility when it comes to my kids, due to the inconsistencies in my job. I can have a slow day and be home early, or an insane day and be stuck on the set until midnight. I have my daughter in a preschool/daycare, and my son home with our full-time nanny. It’s perfect, rather expensive, but it works for us, since I need flexibility and a trustworthy person to pick up my daughter at 4:30 pm from school.

How do you balance out your childcare and household responsibilities with your husband?

My husband is a producer, so his hours are all over the place, even worse than mine. He is usually on the set early in the morning until late at night, especially on shoot days. When he can, usually two or three times a week, he’ll drive our daughter to school and our nanny will pick her up. But honestly, I have the corporate job, so my hours are more consistent and I truly handle the majority of the workload when it comes to the house and kids. I would say I do 99% of the bath time – since my daughter waits for me to come home before hopping into the tub. I do 100% of the grocery shopping, cooking, and kid-related chores. I work out the nanny schedule, payment, time-off, school paperwork, school parent/teacher meetings, etc.

0 comments so far...

No comments yet.

Work Life Balance Stories

Check out our best tips for balancing work and home life.

Quick & Easy recipes

Browse our favorite quick and easy recipes, perfect for busy moms.

Ask & Answer Questions

What working moms are talking about on our question board!